Catatan Kecil

LiVe is SimPle… makE a choiCe, doN’t Look bAck, and Do yoUr beSt.

Write C code under Windows using Open Source App

with 10 comments

c/c++

I will share about my difficulties in write some of programming language code. In the beginning of this month, I had Network Performance Analysis and Simulation homework. It’s about simulation program in queuing theory. We should make some code to simulate M/M/1/K and M/M/m/m queuing system. The simulation result will be compared to analytical approach calculation.

By using my notebook, that have limited specification (memory only 256 MB), I cannot install any heavy compiler or debugger (i.e Visual Studio or Visual Studio .NET Frameworks). By suggestion of mbak Iin, I use easyEclipse C/C++ (open source application), its not consume much energy (Ram, Processor etc). First of all I install easyEclipse for C/C++ Interface. After install the application … i try to make a simple C code, named HelloWorld. Unfortunately the code is not running :(( .

Oke, lets look it closely… is there something wrong with the installation procedure? I don’t think so. I ask mbak Iin again… she said that, its running well under linux environment. After asking mbah google, I found that, the easyEclipse is only an interface to write the code… I need a compiler to run the code. In linux the C/C++ compiler is already build in the machine. So, mbah google suggest me to install MinGW GCC . Finally I can run my HelloWorld coding🙂 .

I Try some code about my homework, one line code still oke, until the program complete… I try to debug it. The compiler said that “Erorr : Blalala” I forget. I have not touch any programming language since i was graduated from my undergraduate study… First, I think there is something wrong in my code. So, I ask mbak Iin again and again😀 , because she is an expert in coding🙂 . She said that… the compiler is exclude the debugger. I should install any debugger to the machine. After asking mbah Google, I found debugger for MinGM compiler. After installation finish, I can debug and make some code well.

Here are the step to run some programming code (C/C++) under windows using open source application:

  1. Install easyEclipse C/C++ user interface application [Download]
  2. Install MinGW GCC compiler [Download]
  3. Install GNU gdb (Debugger) [Download]

Written by nRa

Wednesday, April 30, 2008 at 12:52 am

Posted in College/Kuliah

Tagged with ,

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. so, you give up with java and try GCC eh?🙂

    galih

    Wednesday, April 30, 2008 at 8:28 am

  2. coool

    finally, you wrote it😉
    C/C++ compiler is not built in Linux System by default, we should install GCC as well

    Nur Aini Rakhmawati

    Wednesday, April 30, 2008 at 6:37 pm

  3. @ galih : nope, just help my friend make some code in java

    @ mbak Iin : hihi… but, i do not know how to make it become a project in sourceforge.net

    nRa

    Thursday, May 1, 2008 at 4:05 pm

  4. so the point is Visual Studio IDE is cool if there’ not much in consuming resource :p. most of the open source software available seperately, that’s the freedom. we can pack it manually for personal use and share to everyone on the net if you want. so do you want to pack it and share it in the net?😀.

    guguk

    Saturday, May 3, 2008 at 10:07 pm

  5. @ guguk : hope so, that i can do the packaging🙂 … i still try to package it.

    nRa

    Saturday, May 3, 2008 at 10:59 pm

  6. Great Job.. Your English is better..🙂 Ganbatte…

    almuhandis

    Monday, May 5, 2008 at 12:57 pm

  7. Would you send your code to code to simulate M/M/1/K and M/M/m/m queuing systems.
    My email is adolfo_santana@yahoo.com

    Thanks,

    Adolfo.

    Adolfo Santana

    Tuesday, July 22, 2008 at 12:21 pm

  8. so is this stuff to make my own program. im new at this i want to create a program fo rwindows with i guide because, im new.

    david

    Friday, February 27, 2009 at 4:03 am

  9. hello sir, may I ask u about programing c languaeg, I have got trouble when I am applicated ino microcontroller. could you give one example?

    rahman

    Wednesday, March 4, 2009 at 11:33 am

  10. @ david : you can try it to make a C code program, today Microsoft also provide free compiler to build C code, named Microsoft Visual C 2009. You can chose one of them.

    @ Rahman : hmmm, first of all … i would say sorry to you, i’m not an expert in C language furthermore in micro controller. you can search others people in codeproject.com, just a simple suggestion.

    nRa

    Wednesday, March 4, 2009 at 2:42 pm


Leave a Reply

